Day 438 Editorial from Uh-Oh Japan

Skytree elevator has a glitch? Give me a F#$%&king break. Who the hell cares?

Hello blog.

I’ve been thinking about something for a few days now.

I know that this blog has turned into an aggregate for the daily Fukushima/radiation/earthquake/etc. news, but I’ve been deliberating the question of whether of not to continue in this vein. Am I doing a service that people want and/or need?

The list of my sources are at the right under “Blogroll”, and in all honesty, people who are sincerely concerned about the situation in Japan can peruse these sources at their leisure (which few of us have, these days, it seems) to find the latest news.

There are very few regular followers of this blog. This could mean that most people check in now and then to catch up. Or it could mean that they liked it one time or twice, and then got busy with other things. (Just like me🙂.

It takes me 60 – 90 minutes every night to do this update. Someone today told me I should “get a life”. What kind of life? A year and almost three months after 3.11 I am still asking myself that question. How does one live their life knowing that it is teetering on the brink of…. And there really is no end for that sentence because none knows what will happen. 

“But nobody knows the future. You can’t predict what will happen tomorrow. Why worry about something that might not even happen?”

I’m not worrying. At least not every minute of every day of every week of the year. However, every night when I sit down to look at the news, I am confronted with the REALITY that the people in Japan and the people in the Northern Hemisphere are confronted with (or should be).

A cousin of mine writes on her Facebook page: “I am a conservative. I love God and my country. God bless our troops.” Whether I agree with her or not is a question that has long grown old. I used to dally in American politics and hold strong political beliefs. 3.11 made me realize there are MUCH more pressing issues that should be dealt with than the price of gasoline in the U.S.

Because the mainstream media do not cover a wide range of discussion of the issues, we are left with “comfortable” limits of debate. Neighbors don’t want to talk about it. The media don’t want to talk about it. Where do we go to have a balanced, informative discussion about the current situation with regard to radiation and out safety – the safety of our children – within Japan and around the world?

I went in to the local convenience store last week. I bought a bottle of tea and took it to the counter. A woman in her 60s who usually waits on me looked at my face and heard me sigh. “Doushita no? (what’s wrong?)” she asked. I said, “This tea says it’s made in Japan. But where? How can I know that the tea leaves were not grown in Shizuoka?” 

She said that she was also worried, especially for the children who are more susceptible to the effects of internal radiation. There is no guarantee that what we buy at the convenience store, in restaurants, or even the food we are served when we visit a friend’s home for dinner, will not contain ingredients from Tohoku – should we choose not to consume them, or now from cities that are agreeing to burn debris from the disaster, [

Debris truck raised atmospheric dose from 0.06 to 0.612μSv/h]

the levels of contamination of which have not been disclosed in mainstream media. One coworker today told of someone she knew who had been invited to dinner with friends who had received a “gift” of farm produce from their family in the Tohoku area. 

How is the Fukushima meltdown going to affect our relationships? How are we going to be able to say, “Sorry, but I’ve already eaten” when you find out what is being served and the place from which it originated?

And what about the many, many people who still say, “I trust the government. They have tested the food, and it is all right to eat. I support the people in Fukushima”? It’s not about the people in Fukushima. It is about your health and the health of your family  – your children. 

Somewhere I recently saw this on the web:

and it sure rang true. Here, we’ve allowed an electric company and the government (and not just in Japan, mind you – it has happened all over the planet – soon to be in India) to poison the rivers and forests, plant the “fuel fleas” of internal radiation in the populace of the northern hemisphere, and radically change our feeling of security about the places we live, work, play, and eat.

And when we mobilize to stop them, it is the same, few people, ridiculed as being “extremist”, “fear-mongering” “anti-nukers”, dismissed as a bunch of crazy radicals. [EX-SKF:Kitakyushu City Hall on May 23: Mothers vs City Officials]

Until the tide turns.

Ghandi said, “First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”

At times I feel as though people are waking up. Other times I feel so depressed because of the people who say, “Everything’s all right. Why are you worrying?”

Dear reader, what do YOU think?

☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢☢

1 comment
  1. Jules said:

    Hello Uhoh

    I don’t know what I would do without my daily fix of your wonderful blog, I appreciate it more than you might realise, PLEASE PLEASE keep is going, Awareness it important here and if one new person is introduced and passes the info on, the domino effect could be endless.

    THANK YOU!

    J

Leave a Reply

